Member Login


SESP is a member and financial supporter of the Federation of Associations in Behavioral and Brain Sciences, a "coalition of scientific societies that share an interest in advancing the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior." SESP was one of the 8 initial organizations that met in Chicago to found FABBS on December 7, 1980. As a member of FABBS, we participate in advocacy, education, publication, and communication efforts on behalf of scientific social psychology.


Society of Experimental Social Psychology

The Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP) is an international scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of social psychological research. Our members typically have Ph.D.s in social psychology or related fields and hold academic positions or positions in applied settings.

SESP’s mission is to provide opportunities for direct and personal scientific exchange and collaboration among social and personality psychological scientists through its annual meeting. We invite all faculty and principal investigators (PIs) to join SESP at their earliest eligibility and attend our annual meeting. SESP aims to support faculty at all stages of development, beginning with the transition to a faculty position (e.g., among “future” members) and continuing across all subsequent career stages.

SESP prioritizes principles of inclusion, diversity, and equity. Membership in the society is available to all social psychologists (post-5 yrs Ph.D.) regardless of their background (e.g., race, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual preference, language, culture, nationality, religion, or physical ability). SESP values diversity and actively seeks to increase the inclusion of individuals from underrepresented and historically excluded groups. SESP aims to ensure equity by maintaining fair and transparent procedures and providing equal opportunities for all to engage with their colleagues. 

SESP holds a scientific meeting in the early fall of each year, publishes the journal Social Psychological and Personality Science, and contributes to advocacy efforts as a member of FABBS (the Federation of Associations in Behavioral and Brain Sciences). SESP was founded in 1965 by a group of social psychologists led by Edwin Hollander and W. Edgar Vinacke, as described in Hollander (1968). SESP currently has over 1000 elected members.

SESP Executive Committee

SESP is run by an appointed Executive Officer and a member-elected board of 9. The EO serves a four-year term, and each Committee Member serves a 3-year term, with 3 individuals elected yearly. 

Executive Officer: Steve Stroessner

Executive Committee Members/Terms:

Lora Park (2022-2024; President in 2024)

Gordon Moskowitz (2022-2024)
Nick Rule (2022-2024)
Abigail Scholer (2023-2025; Vice President in 2024; President in 2025)
Emily Balcetis (2023-2025)
Mina Cikara (2023-2025)
Lara Aknin (2024-2026)
Michael Bernstein (2024-2026)

‚ÄčMaureen Craig (2024-2026)

Shira Gabriel (Past President)


Event Calendar

Consider supporting SESP 

As a 501(c)(3) organization, all contributions to SESP (both cash and stock) are tax deductible to the degree allowed by law. Please contact the Executive Officer at for additional information.